< Back

< Retour

The National Essay Contest is open to all legal residents of Canada who at the time of entry are enrolled in a Canadian high school in Grade 10, 11 or 12 (Secondary IV or Secondary V in the province of Quebec).

To participate, you must submit an essay on the following theme :

For Canada 150, create an original written portrait of your city, in French in a maximum of 750 words!

You have between October 3rd, 2017 and December 22nd, 2017 to submit your work.

To help you in the writing process, we strongly encourage you to read the following documents:

For your information, we also recommend that you consult the contest’s Rules and Regulations.

In November, follow us on Facebook and Twitter for writing tips!


At the time of entry each entrant must indicate on their entry form into which of the two categories below he or she best fits. The entrant’s Essay will be judged against essays of other entrants in the same category.

Category 1: French Second Language (“FSL”): students whose first language is not French or students who are currently enrolled in Core French, Extended Core French, Basic French, French Immersion, or any other version or type of FSL program, available in their province or territory of residence, and who do not match any of the French First Language criteria.

Category 2: French First Language (“FFL”): students who satisfy one or more of the following criteria:

  • whose first language is French;
  • who speak, write and comprehend French with native fluency;
  • who regularly speak French at home with one or both parents.
  • who attend or have attended a French First Language school for more than 3 years within the past 6 years.


The scholarships, valuing between $1,000 to $12,000, are offered in partnership with the following 9 postsecondary institutions:
– the University of Ottawa (ON)
– the Université de Montréal (QC)
– the Université Sainte-Anne (NS)
– the Université de Moncton (NB)
– the Université Saint-Boniface (MB)
– the University of Alberta’s Campus Saint-Jean (AB)
– the University of Lethbridge (AB)
– Glendon College of York University (ON)
– Collège Boréal (ON)

(Read more about the participating postsecondary institutions)